USPS logo LINK — USPS employee news Printable

A ‘strong and steady’ leader

DeJoy honors Brennan with award

Portrait of smiling woman
Megan J. Brennan retired last week as the nation’s 74th Postmaster General.

In his first act as Postmaster General, Louis DeJoy paid tribute to his predecessor.

DeJoy announced June 15 that he will honor Megan J. Brennan with the Benjamin Franklin Award, the Postal Service’s highest award.

“Megan has dedicated her life and career to the United States Postal Service,” DeJoy said in a video message to employees. “She started as a letter carrier, rose through the ranks, and became our nation’s first female Postmaster General. Over the past five years, she has provided the Postal Service with strong and steady leadership under some of the most challenging circumstances.”

DeJoy added that Brennan, who retired last week, always put the interests of the Postal Service and its workers first, including earlier this year when she delayed her retirement to ensure a smooth leadership transition.

“Over the past six weeks, she has been an invaluable resource to me — sharing her knowledge, enthusiasm and advice. And I know I will continue to call on that advice as I move forward in this job. … I can think of no one more deserving of this honor, and who is more deserving of our respect and admiration. Megan, we thank you for everything you have given to the Postal Service and the American public,” DeJoy said.

Franklin served as America’s first Postmaster General from 1775-1776. DeJoy is the 75th Postmaster General.