USPS logo LINK — USPS employee news Printable

Safety first

Driver award nominations due April 30

Safe driver award
The National Safety Council will once again honor USPS employees with the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver Award.

The National Safety Council will accept nominations for the 2016 Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver Award until Thursday, April 30.

The award recognizes USPS drivers with outstanding safety records.

Here’s the criteria:

  • Nominees must meet the minimum requirement of driving for 15 years or 100,000 miles without a preventable accident.
  • Nominees must be full-time drivers whose primary responsibility is to operate motor vehicles on a regular basis to perform their normal duties.
  • Drivers who’ve been involved in a collision during the award period will be declared ineligible, unless the collision is ruled as non-preventable.
  • Previous award winners are ineligible.

Any USPS facility may nominate drivers for the award, which is named for a longtime safety advocate who served as president of the council’s Southern California chapter.

The top driver from each Postal Service area will receive an award. Winners will be announced in October.

The council’s site has a nomination form and more information.

Post-story highlights