USPS logo LINK — USPS employee news Printable

Board of Governors nominations

Obama selects Crawford, Miller for open seats

USPS logo

President Obama has nominated Stephen Crawford and James Miller III to the Postal Service Board of Governors.

Crawford is a research professor at George Washington University in Washington, DC.

Miller, a senior advisor at law firm Husch Blackwell, previously served as director of the Office of Management and Budget. Miller served on the Board of Governors previously.

The White House announced the nominations March 11. The Senate must confirm nominees before they join the board.

Earlier this year, Obama nominated two others to the board: David Bennett, formerly an executive with aerospace company BAE Systems, and David Shapira, chairman and chief executive officer of supermarket chain Giant Eagle.

The president also re-nominated Mickey Barnett, a lawyer and former New Mexico state senator who joined the board in 2006.

The board directs and controls USPS expenditures, reviews its practices, conducts long-range planning and sets policies, among other duties.

The board is comprised of nine governors and the Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General. There are six open seats on the board.

Post-story highlights